In 2023, the Town of Innisfail will celebrate 120 years since its incorporation on November 20, 1903. In our on-going series of posts acknowledging our rich history, we’ll be sharing some significant aspects of the town’s history throughout the months leading up to November.
One of the main north-south routes used by the original inhabitants of the region was situated near what is now the Town of Innisfail. This trail, known as the ‘Wolf’s Track’, was used for trading and hunting.
A popular path with stagecoach travelers, settlers, and freight crews, it later become known as the Calgary-Edmonton Trail (C&E Trail).
With increased traffic, lodgings were established along the route, providing rest and food. One of the first of these ‘stopping houses’ – known as “The Spruces” – was built in 1883-84 just north of lnnisfail’s present location.
In the 1970s, the building was moved to the lnnisfail Historical Village where it can still be seen today.